Did Chicago White Sox Change Their Name?

The Chicago White Sox is a major league baseball team in the United States that is situated in Windy City.

Members of the American In Central division compete in major league baseball for the White Sox, who are based in Chicago. Guaranteed Rate Field, which is located on Chicago’s South Side, is owned by Jerry Reinsdorf.

In addition to the Chicago Cubs, the White Sox are one of only two MLB teams based in Chicago, the other being the Cubs of the National League Central division.

Chicago White Sox
Chicago White Sox

Founded in 1900 as the Chicago White Stockings, the White Sox changed their name to the White Sox in 1904, making them one of eight American League charter franchises.

Comiskey Park served as the team’s home until a new ballpark with the same name was built in 1910, then they moved to Guaranteed Rate Field in 1991. (formerly named U.S. Cellular Field)

It was the “Hitless Wonders” of 1906 and the “Eddie Cicotte, Eddie Collins, Shoeless Joe Jackson” of 1917 that guided the White Sox to two World Series victories.

This year’s World Series was tainted by the Black Sox Scandal, which implicated key White Sox players in a game-fixing conspiracy.

MLB Commissioner Kenesaw Mountain Landis responded by permanently banning the players. A year later, in 1959, the Chicago White Sox won the American League pennant, led by Early Wynn, Nellie Fox and Luis Aparicio as well as manager Al López.

With the help of AL MVP Jermaine Dye, Paul Konerko, and Mark Buehrle, as well as catcher A. J. Pierzynski and Ozzie Guillén, the first Latino manager to win the World Series, the team took home the AL pennant in 2005 and then went on to win the World Series.

87 years have passed since the White Sox last won the World Series, trailing only their crosstown rivals the Chicago Cubs in terms of the longest title drought in MLB history (107 seasons).

Did Chicago White Sox Change Their Name?

The Chicago White Sox was formally called the Chicago White Stockings in 1900. It was later changed to Chicago White Sox in 1904. The White Sox have remained since.