Skip to content Skip to footer

The New York Jets are a professional American football team that plays in the greater New York City area. The National Football League’s American Football Conference East division is home to the Jets. The team was founded in 1959 as a founding member of the American Football League and was given the name Titans of New York (AFL).

The team joined the NFL in 1970 after the AFL and NFL combined. In 1960, the team first participated in events at the Polo Grounds. The team moved to Shea Stadium in 1964 before moving to the Meadowlands Sports Complex in 1984. The current name was decided upon in 1963 by new management.

The Jets first qualified for the postseason in 1968. As a result of their performance in Super Bowl III, they became the first AFL club to defeat an NFL team in a World Championship Game between the AFL and NFL by defeating the Baltimore Colts. Since 1968, the Jets have participated in four AFC Championship Games and 13 postseason games.


New York Jets
New York Jets

The only two NFL clubs to have won in their lone Super Bowl appearance are the Jets and the New Orleans Saints. They are one of four teams who have never claimed the AFC title.

How many Jets are in the Hall of Fame?

Three former Jets players are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame and one coach.

Spread the love