The Baltimore Orioles are an American professional baseball team based in Baltimore. The Orioles compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) East division.

Founded in 1901, the Milwaukee Brewers became the Milwaukee Brewers in 1902 before moving to St. Louis, Missouri, to become the St. Louis Browns the following year. After more than half a century in St. Louis, I’m ready to leave.

Baltimore Orioles
Baltimore Orioles

Syndicate of Baltimore corporate and civic groups, led by lawyer and civic leader Clarence Miles and Mayor Thomas D’Alesandro Jr., purchased the license in November 1953, Louis

Peter Angelos, an American trial lawyer, is the team’s current owner.

Baltimore’s official state bird, the Oriole, inspired the Orioles’ team name, which had previously been used by several other baseball teams in the city, notably the Baltimore Orioles, an American League charter member team that relocated to New York in 1903 and eventually became the Yankees.

The “O’s” and the “Birds” are two of the team’s nicknames. From 1966 until 1983, the Orioles enjoyed their greatest success, making six World Series appearances and winning three (1966, 1970, 1983).

Is 8 Retired for the Orioles?

Yes, the Baltimore Orioles have retired the number 8 jersey.

Which Numbers Have Been Retired by The Orioles?

The Baltimore Orioles currently have six fully retired numbers: 4 (Earl Weaver), 5 (Brooks Robinson), 8 (Cal Ripken, Jr.), 20 (Frank Robinson), 22 (Jim Palmer), and 33 (Eddie Murray).


Write A Comment