The New Orleans Saints are a professional American football team in New Orleans. It was established in 1967 with head coach Sean Payton leading the squad.

The New Orleans Saints is Founded by John W. Mecom Jr. and David Dixon on November 1, 1966, the Saints joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1967.

Meet two of the founders of the Saints.

John W. Mecom Jr.

Born 1940, John W. Mecom Jr is the Chairman of the Mecom Company and former owner of the New Orleans Saints NFL football team.

He purchased the New Orleans Saints for $8.5 million in the year 1967. Mecom owned the Saints until 1985. He became the youngest owner of an NFL franchise. He had a special interest in sports especially when it comes to football but Mecom Jr. later sold the team for $64 million to Tom Benson, a New Orleans native businessman.

David Dixon

David Frank Dixon, born on June 4, 1923, in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. David was an American businessman and sports executive who was part of the creation and forming of the New Orleans Saints NFL team, Louisiana, the World Championship Tennis, and the United States Football League. Starting in 1962.

On November 1, 1966, Dixon and McKeithen made a great effort which paid off when the National Football League awarded its 16th franchise to New Orleans. Making him one of the reigning reasons and creators behind such a remarkable football team.



Write A Comment