There is only one American League club that wins the pennant each year in Major League Baseball (MLB), and that team goes on to face the National League champion in a one-game World Series championship game (NL). Since 1968, the AL Championship Series (ALCS) has been used to determine the winner of the pennant, which was formerly decided by the club having the greatest win-loss record. There has been a modern World Series every year since 1903, except for 1994, when a players’ strike forced the postseason to be canceled. The Houston Astros currently possess the American League pennant after winning it in October 22, 2021.

The Kansas City Royals have gone on to win the AL Pennant 4 times. Winning it in 1980,1985,2014 and 2015.


The Kansas City Royals’ 12th season in Major League Baseball came in 1980. ‘ The Royals finished first in the American League West under Jim Frey’s leadership, going 97-65 in his first season in charge. After losing to the Yankees in the ALCS in 1976, 1977, and 1978, the Kansas City Royals finally triumphed in the 1980 American League Championship Series, defeating the Yankees 3-0.


To cap off a historic year for the Royals, they defeated the Cardinals of St. Louis to claim their first ever world title. With Bret Saberhagen’s Cy Young Award-winning performance as a starting pitcher, the team’s record went up to 91–71.


The 2014 Kansas City Royals season was the franchise’s 46th overall. For the first time since 1985, the Kansas City Royals qualified for the playoffs on September 26, 2014. Starting with a win in the Wild Card Game, they beat Oakland Athletics, then swept Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, and finally, Baltimore Orioles.


Kansas City Royals season 2015 was their 47th and 43rd at Kauffman Stadium, respectively. After winning the American League Championship in 2014, the Kansas City Royals earned their second straight World Series trip in 2015. It began with a five-game victory over Houston in the Division Series, followed by a six-game victory over Toronto in the American League Championship Series.


Write A Comment