List of All World Series Titles Won By Kansas City Royals

The Kansas City Royals have won two World Series championships in their history (1985 and 2015).

After the Kansas City Athletics relocated to Oakland in 1969, Major League Baseball gave the Royals an expansion franchise. It didn’t take long for the Royals to overcome the typical challenges of an expansion team; in their first seven seasons, they finished second in the AL Western Division three times.

The Royals Baseball Academy in Sarasota, Florida, was formed in 1970 by club owner Ewing Kauffman in an effort to find and develop players other teams had missed. A total of 14 major leaguers were generated from the 77 prospects who attended the school during its four years of operation by using technological advancements and sophisticated training approaches to improve their baseball talents.

The 1985 World Series Championship

The 1985 World Series was the last round of the 1985 MLB season’s championship series. Kansas City Royals and St. Louis Cardinals faced battle in the 82nd World Series, a best-of-seven postseason matchup between the league champions.

To their surprise and delight, the Royals defeated the Cardinals by a score of 7-2. For this reason, the series became known as the “Show Me Series” or the “I-70 Showdown Series,” as both cities are located in Missouri, which is also known as the “Show Me State.”

The 2015 World Series Championship

Kauffman Stadium hosted its 43rd season as home to the Kansas City Royals for the 47th time in 2015. After winning the American League in 2014, the Kansas City Royals earned their second straight World Series trip in 2015. It was a first since 1985 when they won the series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *