Skip to content Skip to footer

Who Was The Last 20 Game Winner For The Orioles?

Jim Palmer is the last 20-game winner for the Baltimore Orioles. There are only two other teams in MLB history (the 1920 Chicago White Sox) with four players (Jim Palmer, Dave McNally, Mike Cuellar, and Pat Dobson) who have won 20 games or more in a season.

Palmer is an American former professional baseball pitcher who played 19 years in Major League Baseball (MLB) for the Baltimore Orioles (1965–1967, 1969–1984).

Jim Palmer
Jim Palmer

During the 1970s, Palmer was the most successful MLB pitcher with 186 victories. Over the course of the decade, he was a 20-game winner eight times and a Cy Young Award winner three times. He was also awarded four Gold Gloves during his career.

Currently, he holds the Orioles record for most career wins with 268. One of the few pitchers to never allow a grand slam in a major league game, he was an AL All-Star six times.

With eight playoff appearances under his belt, Palmer was an integral part of three World Series champions, six American League pennants, and seven Eastern Division crowns. Palmer was also a four-time AL MVP. During his career, he is the only pitcher to win a World Series game in three separate decades.

As the youngest World Series pitcher to ever deliver a complete-game shutout, he did so in 1966, nine days before his 21st birthday, defeating Sandy Koufax in what would turn out to be Koufax’s final appearance.

In 1971, he was a member of the final starting rotation to have four players with a 20-win season. 1990 saw him inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.