Skip to content Skip to footer

The Washington Commanders are a professional American football team based in the Washington metropolitan area. The Commanders compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s National Football Conference (NFC) East division.

Their three victories in the Super Bowl are tied for third place with the Denver Broncos and the Las Vegas Raiders. They trail the Pittsburgh Steelers and the New England Patriots, who have each won six, the San Francisco 49ers and the Dallas Cowboys, who have each won five, and the Green Bay Packers and the New York Giants, who have each won four (four each).

Washington Commanders
Washington Commanders

The state of Washington won a total of four titles over the course of two consecutive decades. Between the years 1936 and 1945, the team competed in and won two of the six occasions that it made it to the NFL Championship game.

During the second period, which spanned from 1982 to 1991, they had seven postseason appearances, won four Conference titles, and were victorious in the Super Bowl three times out of four times they played in the game.

However, between the years 1946 and 1970, Washington had only four winning seasons and was never able to get to the postseason.

Who did Washington Commanders pick in the first round?

Chris Paul, a tackle from Tulsa, was taken by the Washington Commanders with the 230th overall choice in the NFL Draft in 2022. This move was made to strengthen the offensive line.

Paul finished his collegiate career on a high note, earning all-conference accolades despite making only 10 starts (he is 6 feet 4 inches tall and weighs 323 pounds).

Spread the love