Skip to content Skip to footer

The Chicago White Sox are an American professional baseball team based in Chicago. The White Sox compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) Central division.

The White Sox had their longest spell of consistent success between 1951 and 1967, with a winning record in 17 of those years.

Chicago White Sox
Chicago White Sox

With players like Minnie Mioso, Nellie Fox, Luis Aparicio, Billy Pierce and Sherm Lollar, they were dubbed the “Go-Go White Sox” because of their preference for speed and getting on base above power.

Al López was the manager of the Boston Red Sox from 1957 through 1965. In eight of his nine seasons as manager, the Red Sox finished in the top half of the American League, including six straight seasons as one of the league’s top two teams.

For the first time since the disastrous 1919 season, the Chicago White Sox won the American League pennant in 1959. Following an 11–0 victory in Game One of their 1959 World Series against the LA Dodgers, they lost in six games.

What Does White Sox Stand For?

The National League granted the American League permission to locate a franchise in Chicago on the condition that the AL refrain from using the name of the city anywhere in the team’s branding.

Comiskey relocated the baseball team he owned in St. Paul to the Near South Side of Chicago and called it the White Stockings. The White Stockings was a nickname that the Chicago Cubs had formerly used.

On March 21, 1900, the St. Paul Saints made their transfer to Chicago official and changed their name to the White Stockings when they joined the American League for the first time.

That National League team opponent on the North Side of Chicago is now known as the Cubs, although they used to go by the name White Stockings in the past.