What Is Bryce Harper’s War?

What Is Bryce Harper’s War?

Bryce Harper has a 40.0 WAR in 2022

SUMMARY         WAR     AB       H      HR      BA     R      RBI   SB    OBP     SLG   OPS     OPS+

–        37       8       2        .216    9       9      1     .333     .486    .820    132

40.0    4594  1281    269     .279   859   761  112   .391    .524   .915     142

Bryce Harper of the Philadelphia Phillies was awarded the National League Most Valuable Player.

Harper received 17 first-place votes out of a total of 30. Juan Soto of Washington came in second (with six first-place votes), while Fernando Tatis Jr. of San Diego came in third (with two first-place votes).

Bryce Harper
Bryce Harper

Harper was also named the Hank Aaron Award winner for the league’s greatest hitter earlier this month. Harper’s MVP season also gives him a boost in his quest for a spot on the National Hall of Fame and Museum’s plaque.

Harper is only the 32nd player in baseball history to earn two MVP trophies. They have 23 members in the Hall of Fame.

Three of the remaining 31 are still operational (Albert Pujols, Miguel Cabrera, and Mike Trout).

Alex Rodriguez earned three MVP awards and will be on the ballot for the first time in December by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Only four players in baseball history have been eligible for two MVP Awards without being inducted into the Hall of Fame (Roger Maris, Dale Murphy, Juan Gonzalez, and Barry Bonds).

Harper signed a 13-year, $330 million contract with the Philadelphia Phillies in March 2019 after spending the first seven years of his career with the Washington Nationals.

Harper’s contract with the Phillies includes a full no-trade clause, but unlike other nine-figure contracts in baseball, it does not include an opt-out clause for the player.

Harper will stay a Phillies player until 2031 unless he agrees to trade in the next ten years.

Bryce Harper was regarded as a future Hall of Famer from the moment he was picked as the Nationals’ first overall pick in the 2010 draft.