Skip to content Skip to footer

The Arizona Cardinals are a professional American football team based in the Phoenix metropolitan area. The Cardinals compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member of the National Football Conference (NFC) West division and play their home games at State Farm Stadium in the northwestern suburb of Glendale.

Established in 1898 as the Morgan Athletic Club, this Chicago-based amateur football team entered the National Football League on September 17, 1920, becoming a founding member as a charter member.

Arizona Cardinals
Arizona Cardinals

Since the league’s inception, the Cardinals have been one of only two NFL charter member franchises that have remained in existence, along with the Chicago Bears, since its inception (the Green Bay Packers were an independent team until they joined the NFL a year after its creation in 1921).

In 1960, the club relocated to St. Louis and remained there until 1987, when the franchise relocated again. Aside from the MLB Cardinals, St. Louis’ football squad was known as the “Football Cardinals,” “Gridbirds,” “Big Red,” or simply “The Cardinals.”

Sun Devil Stadium on the Arizona State University campus hosted the team for the next 18 seasons after it relocated west to Tempe, Arizona, before the 1988 season.

Since moving to Glendale in 2006, the team has maintained their Tempe headquarters and training facility but has relocated to their current home field in Glendale.

How many Super Bowls have the Arizona Cardinals won?

Since the team’s inception in 1898, the Cardinals have competed in the National Football League (NFL), but they have been one of the least successful franchises in the history of the league. The Cardinals have only won two NFL championships, in 1925 and 1947, despite being the oldest team in the league.