Skip to content Skip to footer

The New York Jets are a professional American football team based in the greater New York City region. The American Football Conference East division of the National Football League is home to the Jets. As a founding member of the American Football League, the team was founded in 1959 and given the name Titans of New York (AFL). The team joined the NFL after the AFL and NFL merged in 1970.

In 1960, the ensemble participated in events at the Polo Grounds for the first time. The team moved to the Meadowlands Sports Complex in 1984 after departing Yankee Stadium in 1964. The current name was chosen in 1963 by new management. The Jets first appeared in the postseason in 1968. As a result of their success in Super Bowl III, they became the first AFL club to do it, defeating the Baltimore Colts in the AFL and NFL World Championship Game.


New York Jets
New York Jets

Since 1968, the Jets have participated in 13 postseason contests and four AFC Championship Games. The only two NFL clubs to win in their lone Super Bowl appearance are the New York Jets and the New Orleans Saints. This team is one of four that has never claimed the AFC title.

Have the Jets always been in New York?

Yets. Since its establishment, the New York Jets have been in New York.