When did the Cardinals change from Phoenix to Arizona?

The Arizona Cardinals football team was established in 1898. The team has a net worth of $2.65 billion. Only the Chicago Bears and Arizona Cardinals have continued to routinely play football in the country since the league’s establishment. Before the 1988 season, the team moved to Tempe, Arizona, a college town east of Phoenix, where it spent the following 18 seasons playing its home games at Sun Devil Stadium on the campus of Arizona State University.

The Cardinals are the only NFL team without a home playoff loss thanks to their victory in the 1947 NFL Championship Game, two postseason victories during the aforementioned 2008-09 NFL playoffs, one during the 2009-10 playoffs, and one during the 2015-16 playoffs.

The team’s corporate headquarters and training facility are still based in Tempe even though it moved to a new home stadium in Glendale in 2006. From 1988 until 2012, Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff hosted the annual Cardinals training camp. The Cardinals’ training camp was moved from State Farm Stadium to University of Phoenix Stadium in 2013.

They won seven of their eleven postseason matches, including three between the NFL postseasons of 2008 and 2009. Since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger, they have only only won one NFC Championship Game, which they did in 2009 when they advanced to the Super Bowl XLIII.

When did the Cardinals change from Phoenix to Arizona?

Before the team was named Arizona Cardinals, it was called Phoenix Cardinals. It had the name Phoenix Cardinals from 1988 to 1993.

In 1994, Michael Bidwill, owner of the team agreed to a handshake deal and the name was changed to Arizona Cardinals.