Skip to content Skip to footer

The Triple-A affiliate of the Kansas City Royals in Minor League Baseball’s International League is the Omaha Storm Chasers. They are based in the Nebraskan town of Papillion, which is southwest of Omaha. Werner Park, which opened in 2011, is where they play their home games.

From 1969 through 2010, the team originally played at Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, the site of the College World Series. Since the 1969 expansion of Major League Baseball, the franchise has been the only Triple-A affiliate of the Kansas City Royals.

What Is The Kansas City Royals AAA Team?
What Is The Kansas City Royals AAA Team?

When they were first admitted as a member of the Triple-A American Association in 1969, they were known as the Omaha Royals. In 2011, they changed their name to the Storm Chasers.

The organization of the team into the Triple-A East, which changed its name to the International League in 2022, coincided with Major League Baseball’s rebuilding of Minor League Baseball in 2021.

Omaha has claimed seven league titles. Most recently, in 2013 and 2014, they won back-to-back PCL championships. 2011 saw them win the PCL championship.

In addition, they triumphed in the American Association title in 1969, 1970, 1978, and 1990. In 1990 and 2013 and 2014, they won the Triple-A National Championship Game. They later went on to win the Triple-A Classic.

The Storm Chasers were ranked as the 29th-most valuable Minor League Baseball franchise by Forbes in 2016 with a valuation of $27 million.