Why was Jacksonville given an NFL team?

The Jacksonville Jaguars are a Jacksonville, Florida-based American football franchise. The Jaguars are a National Football League franchise that competes in the AFC South division of the American Football Conference (AFC) (NFL).

The squad plays its home games at TIAA Bank Field. Along with the Carolina Panthers, the Jaguars were a new expansion team launched in 1995. They competed in the AFC Central prior to their reclassification to the AFC South in 2002.

Why was Jacksonville given an NFL team?
Why was Jacksonville given an NFL team?

Tony Boselli, a future All-Pro tackle who was selected by the Jaguars in the first round of the collegiate draft, served as the team’s offensive focal point and helped the Jaguars immediately establish themselves as a successful organization.

Shahid Khan acquired the team from its first main owner Wayne Weaver in 2012 and now owns it.

By making the playoffs in four of their first five seasons, the Jaguars had a significant impact on the NFL from the start. They won two division championships, appeared in two AFC Championship Games, and made four consecutive playoff trips between their second and fifth seasons.

By their second season in 1996, they and the Panthers became the newest NFL expansion team to play in a conference championship and clinch their conference’s top seed (by their fifth season in 1999).

Since 2000, the Jaguars have won just one division title and made only three postseason appearances. They are one of four NFL teams without a Super Bowl appearance.