Detroit Tigers, American League baseball club headquartered in Detroit (AL). 1935, 1945, 1968, and 1984 World Series championships and 11 AL pennants.

The 1935 Detroit Tigers World Series Championship

The Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago Cubs in six games to capture their first World Series title in five tries. And in 1934, they lost again.

The Tigers triumphed despite losing Hank Greenberg. Greenberg injured his wrist after colliding with Cubs catcher Gabby Hartnett in Game 2.

The 1945 Detroit Tigers World Series Championship

1945 saw the American League champion Tigers face the National League champion Cubs. The Tigers won the Series in seven games, their second since 1935.

Paul Richards had four RBI in the seventh game, leading the Tigers to a 9–3 triumph and 4–3 series win.

The 1968 Detroit Tigers World Series Championship

The Tigers defeated the Cardinals 4-3 in the 1968 World Series. The Detroit Tigers won their seventh American League pennant and third World Series victory in 1968, the “Year of the Pitcher.”

After winning 31 games, Detroit pitcher Denny McLain was voted the American League’s Most Valuable Player. Mickey Lolich won the World Series MVP award after pitching three complete games.

The 1984 Detroit Tigers World Series Championship

The 1984 Detroit Tigers won the World Series 4 games to 1 over the San Diego Padres. It was their 84th season since joining the American League in 1901.

In a 162-game season, it was the franchise’s finest season in terms of overall victories (104) and win percentage (.642). The Tigers led the American League Eastern Division from start to finish, starting 9–0 and finishing 35–5 after 40 games.

The squad earned their first Division title since 1972, their first American League Pennant since 1968 (and ninth overall), and their fourth (and most recent) World Championship.


Write A Comment