The Tampa Bay Rays have won three wild card berths. These include 2011, 2013, and 2019 wild card berths.

Tampa Bay Rays 2011 Wild Card

The Tampa Bay Rays 2011 season was the team’s 14th season of baseball. Despite opening the season 0-6 and trailing the Boston Red Sox by 9 games as late in the season as of September 1, the Rays earned the AL Wild Card and made consecutive postseason berths for the first time in team history. However, they fell to the Texas Rangers in four games in the Division Series, the second year in a row they lost to Texas in the first round of the playoffs.

Tampa Bay Rays 2013 Wild Card

The 2013 American League Wild Card Game was a play-in game between the American League’s (AL) two wild card clubs, the Cleveland Indians and the Tampa Bay Rays, during Major League Baseball’s (MLB) 2013 playoffs (the latter winners of a one-game tiebreaker against the Texas Rangers).

On October 2, 2013, it was placed at Progressive Field in Cleveland, Ohio. The Rays won 4–0 and proceeded to the AL Division Series, where they would meet the Boston Red Sox, who would go on to win the World Series that year.

Tampa Bay Rays 2019 Wild Card

Diaz slugged baseball’s lowest spender into a playoff showdown with powerhouse Houston, Charlie Morton hushed the Athletics on the pitching, and the Tampa Bay Rays beat Oakland 5-1 in the AL wild-card game.


Write A Comment