The Tampa Bay Rays are a professional baseball team in the United States based in St. Petersburg, Florida. The Rays are a part of the American League (AL) East division in Major League Baseball (MLB). Tropicana Field has been the team’s home venue since its existence.

The Boston Red Sox and the New York Yankees are the Tampa Bay Rays’ main rivals. There have been several memorable on-field events in relation to the former. [6] The Rays also have a domestic rivalry with the Miami Marlins (formerly the Florida Marlins) of the National League (NL), with whom they play in the Citrus Series.

Founder OF Tampa Bay Rays

On March 9, 1995, an ownership group led by Vince Naimoli was accepted after nearly three decades of fruitless attempts to get an expansion franchise or persuade existing clubs to relocate to the Tampa Bay area. The Tampa Bay Devil Rays debuted in Major League Baseball in 1998.

Vincent Joseph Naimoli born on September 16, 1937, was an American entrepreneur who founded the Tampa Bay Devil Rays in Major League Baseball.

The Tampa Bay Devil Rays were founded by Naimoli and he was the initial owner of the team, which was eventually shortened to the Tampa Bay Rays in 2008.

In 1999, the Notre Dame Monogram Club awarded him an honorary monogram.


Write A Comment