The Toronto Blue Jays are a Toronto-based professional baseball franchise. The Blue Jays are a part of the American League (AL) East division.

The squad was also owned by Labatt Brewing Company, manufacturers of the iconic Labatt Blue beer. The team’s official colors are royal blue, navy blue, red, and white. Toronto-based expansion franchise formed in 1977.

Originally headquartered at Exhibition Stadium, the team moved to SkyDome in 1989. Rogers Communications has owned the Blue Jays since 2000 and purchased SkyDome in 2004, renaming it Rogers Centre. They are the only MLB team headquartered outside the United States when the Montreal Expos became the Washington Nationals in 2005.

The Blue Jays struggled as an expansion team in the late 1970s and early 1980s, regularly finishing last in their division. They won their first game in 1983 and two years later won their division.

A major league power from 1985 through 1993, the Blue Jays won five division titles in nine seasons, including three straight from 1991 to 1993. With the help of a core group of All-Star players including Hall of Famer Roberto Alomar, Joe Carter, John Olerud, and Devon White, the team won back-to-back World Series in 1992 and 1993.

The Blue Jays became the first (and only) non-American team to win a World Series, and the first AL expansion team to do it in 16 years. Along with the National League’s Miami Marlins, they are one of just two MLB organizations undefeated in numerous World Series appearances.

The Blue Jays missed the playoffs for 21 years after 1993, before winning the division and advancing to the postseason in 2015. In 2016, the team earned a second consecutive playoff berth by winning the AL wild card. The Jays won the AL Division Series both years but lost the AL Championship Series.

The Blue Jays are the only American League team owned by a corporation, along with the Atlanta Braves.

From 1977 to 2021, the Blue Jays have a 3,506–3,557 record (.496)

Toronto Blue Jays Hats And Baseball Caps



Write A Comment