What Is The Walter Payton Man Award

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award is presented annually by the National Football League honoring a player’s volunteer and charity work, as well as his excellence on the field. Prior to 1999, it was called simply the NFL Man of the Year Award.

The Man of the Year trophy was created in 1969 by artist Daniel Bennett Schwartz, depicting a caped lineman modeled after offensive tackle Steve Wright, who had played for the Green Bay Packers during their Super Bowl I and Super Bowl II championships.

Despite the award being renamed in 1999, the trophy has never been modified to depict Payton instead of Wright.

Winners Since The Inception of The Award

Year Player Position Team
1970 Johnny Unitas Quarterback Baltimore Colts
1971 John Hadl Quarterback San Diego Chargers
1972 Willie Lanier Linebacker Kansas City Chiefs
1973 Len Dawson Quarterback Kansas City Chiefs
1974 George Blanda Quarterback Oakland Raiders
1975 Ken Anderson Quarterback Cincinnati Bengals
1976 Franco Harris Running back Pittsburgh Steelers
1977 Walter Payton Running back Chicago Bears
1978 Roger Staubach Quarterback Dallas Cowboys
1979 Joe Greene Defensive Tackle Pittsburgh Steelers
1980 Harold Carmichael Wide receiver Philadelphia Eagles
1981 Lynn Swann Wide receiver Pittsburgh Steelers
1982 Joe Theismann Quarterback Washington Redskins
1983 Rolf Benirschke Placekicker San Diego Chargers
1984 Marty Lyons Defensive tackle New York Jets
1985 Dwight Stephenson Center Miami Dolphins
1986 Reggie Williams Linebacker Cincinnati Bengals
1987 Dave Duerson Safety Chicago Bears
1988 Steve Largent Wide receiver Seattle Seahawks
1989 Warren Moon Quarterback Houston Oilers
1990 Mike Singletary Linebacker Chicago Bears
1991 Anthony Muñoz Offensive tackle Cincinnati Bengals
1992 John Elway Quarterback Denver Broncos
1993 Derrick Thomas Linebacker Kansas City Chiefs
1994 Junior Seau Linebacker San Diego Chargers
1995 Boomer Esiason Quarterback New York Jets
1996 Darrell Green Cornerback Washington Redskins
1997 Troy Aikman Quarterback Dallas Cowboys
1998 Dan Marino Quarterback Miami Dolphins
1999 Cris Carter Wide receiver Minnesota Vikings
2000 Derrick Brooks Linebacker Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Jim Flanigan Defensive tackle Chicago Bears
2001 Jerome Bettis Running back Pittsburgh Steelers
2002 Troy Vincent Cornerback Philadelphia Eagles
2003 Will Shields Guard Kansas City Chiefs
2004 Warrick Dunn Running back Atlanta Falcons
2005 Peyton Manning Quarterback Indianapolis Colts
2006 Drew Brees Quarterback New Orleans Saints
LaDainian Tomlinson Running back San Diego Chargers
2007 Jason Taylor Defensive end Miami Dolphins
2008 Kurt Warner Quarterback Arizona Cardinals
2009 Brian Waters Guard Kansas City Chiefs
2010 Madieu Williams Safety Minnesota Vikings
2011 Matt Birk Center Baltimore Ravens
2012 Jason Witten Tight end Dallas Cowboys
2013 Charles Tillman Cornerback Chicago Bears
2014 Thomas Davis Sr. Linebacker Carolina Panthers
2015 Anquan Boldin Wide receiver San Francisco 49ers
2016 Larry Fitzgerald Wide receiver Arizona Cardinals
Eli Manning Quarterback New York Giants
2017 J. J. Wattdagger Defensive end Houston Texans
2018 Chris Long Defensive end Philadelphia Eagles
2019 Calais Campbelldagger Defensive end Jacksonville Jaguars
2020 Russell Wilsondagger Quarterback Seattle Seahawks
2021 Andrew Whitworthdagger Left Tackle Los Angeles Rams

Who is the Walter Payton Man of the Year 2022?

Andrew Whitworth won the award at the NFL Honors show on Thursday night, being recognized as the player who exemplifies community impact and philanthropy.

He joins an elite group of great men who have helped out in the community throughout their NFL careers, a well-deserved honor for the 40-year-old left tackle.


Bliss Adusei Odum is a writer with the flow to thrill its readers with nothing but in-depth content of happenings in the world of baseball and other sports as well. For writing gigs and works contact me via email: [email protected] or WhatsApp on +2330559752519

Write A Comment