Located in the city’s Back Bay, the Boston Celtics play in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Celtics are a member of the Eastern Conference Atlantic Division of the National Basketball Association.

Boston Celtics have had so many fantastic collection of captains since Walter Brown established the club in 1946.


DATE                       NAME

1950-63                      Bob Cousy

1963-69                          Bill Russell

1969-78                       John Havlicek

1978-80                      Dave Cowens

1980-92                       Larry Bird

1992-93                     Reggie Lewis

1993-94                    Robert Parish

1994-95                    Dee Brown and Dominique Wilkins

1995-96                     Dee Brown

1996-97                       Rick Fox

1997-98                Dee Brown, Pervis Ellison, Antoine Walker

1998-99                 Antoine Walker

1999-00               Antoine Walker and Dana Barros

2000-03                 Antoine Walker and Paul Pierce

2003-2013                Paul Pierce

2014                          Rajon Rondo


Rajon Rondo served as Celtic’s last team captain for the 2014-2015 season when Brad Stevens’ first as head coach of the franchise.

After the Dallas Mavericks acquired Rajon Rondo in December 2014, Stevens chose not to designate a replacement as the team’s captain, opting instead to avoid assigning titles to any of the team’s leaders for the balance of Stevens’ tenure as head coach.

During the next regular season, the Boston Celtics will begin a new era under the leadership of head coach Ime Udoka, and one of his first acts is expected to be the return of team captains, a longstanding Celtics tradition.

On Saturday, after the Celtics finished their fourth training camp day, Udoka talked about his strategy to selecting captains, stating that he would likely choose two leaders before the regular season.


Write A Comment