The Pro Football Hall of Fame does not have any Houston Texans on its roster. Perhaps Ed Reed was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2019. He announced his retirement on May 6, 2015, signed a one-day deal with the Ravens on May 7, 2015, and formally retired on May 8, 2015, allowing us to declare that he was a Raven Player at the time of his induction.

Maybe with the arrival of wide receiver Andre Johnson, this will change. Since his retirement, the former All-Pro faces a glut at his position as well as poor yardage per catch and TD totals compared to his illustrious colleagues.

Canton should honor two current Texans after their playing days. J.J. Watt is already a legend in the making. There have been four first-team All-Pro awards in six years for the defensive end. The fact that he has 76 career sacks in 83 games shows just how dominant he is. In the event that he retires after this season, Watt should be considered a lock for the first ballot.

The other Texan in Canton may not be as evident. Shane Lechler’s enshrinement credentials are outstanding. Both his gross and net punting averages are the NFL’s all-time best with 13 seasons in the top five in both criteria. His long-term consistency is the gold standard for his job at this time.


Write A Comment