Since the 1950s, the Detroit Lions have only won one playoff game, but they’ve had a few good quarterbacks come close to taking them to the next level. Detroit quarterbacks have always been able to throw the ball, from Bobby Layne winning an NFL Championship in the 1950s to Matthew Stafford smashing every Lions record known to us. Let’s begin the countdown.

Scott Mitchell, No. 5 (1994-1998)

Scott Mitchell should probably be higher on this ranking based only on statistics. Mitchell, who finished his four seasons as the Lions’ starting quarterback third in completions (1,850) and yards (12,647) and fourth in touchdowns (79), had some great seasons. Mitchell, despite his excellent accomplishments, will be remembered for his postseason failures, and as a result, he ranks fifth on our list.

Erik Kramer, No. 4 (1991-1993)

Erik Kramer earned a position on this list despite having a brief career with the Lions. He did, however, win a playoff game. Kramer led the Lions to their first playoff victory in over 40 years when they defeated the Dallas Cowboys in the NFC Divisional Round in 1991, his first season with the team. Kramer’s playoff triumph remains one of the finest experiences for many Lions fans, and he will always have a place in the hearts of the Detroit faithful, despite the fact that he owns no Lions’ passing records.

Greg Landry, No. 3 (1968-1978)

Greg Landry’s first three seasons in Detroit were the most spectacular of his 10-year career. Landry coached the Lions to three consecutive winning seasons from 1968 to 1970, including playoff participation in 1970 following a 10-4 regular-season record. Landry is the Lions’ all-time leader in completions (957), yards (12,451), and touchdowns (31). (80).

Bobby Layne, No. 2 (1950-1958)

Bobby Layne achieved something that no other Lions quarterback has ever done: he led Detroit to a championship. Layne ripped up Lion’s record books in addition to winning the NFL Championship in 1952 and 1953.

Layne held every Lion’s significant passing record before Matthew Stafford’s arrival. He is second all-time in completions (1,074), yards (15,710), and touchdowns (118), and the championships he brought to Detroit would rank him first for many, but quarterback victories are meaningless statistics.

Matthew Stafford, No. 1 (2009-2020)

Matthew Stafford has set every major passing record in his 12 seasons as the Lions’ primary quarterback. Stafford, despite not winning a postseason game, deserves to be No. 1 on our list since he is the franchise’s all-time leader in completions (3,898), yards (45,109), and touchdowns (282). However, as we have stated, quarterback victories are not the best indicator of who is the superior quarterback.


Write A Comment