The Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame was established in 1995 as a way to honor the exceptional playing and managerial careers of Red Sox legends. A representative of a 15 people board, which includes Red Sox broadcasters and executives, as well as members from the Sports Museum of New England and the BoSox Booster Club, nominate individuals.

Non-uniformed Red Sox players’ accomplishments are also taken into account while voting on their inclusion in the Hall of Fame. The significance of a particular moment in Red Sox history cannot be overstated.


Candidates for the award must have played for the Red Sox for at least three seasons and must have been out of uniform as an active player for a minimum of three years in order to be considered for selection.

The Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame Selection Committee will pick the non-uniformed person(s) and the memorable moment(s) only if there is a unanimous vote among the members of the selection committee.

Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame Members

Following their induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame, the following 16 individuals were inducted into the Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame and were designated as founder members of the organization:


  • Eddie Collins (front office)
  • Jimmy Collins
  • Joe Cronin
  • Bobby Doerr
  • Rick Ferrell
  • Jimmie Foxx
  • Lefty Grove
  • Harry Hooper
  • Herb Pennock
  • Red Ruffing
  • Babe Ruth
  • Tris Speaker
  • Ted Williams
  • Carl Yastrzemski
  • Tom Yawkey (longtime owner)
  • Cy Young

Write A Comment