The Houston Texans are an American football professional team headquartered in Houston, Texas. The Texans are a member of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division of the National Football League (NFL), and they play their home games at NRG Stadium.

The Texans were formed in 1999 and were owned by Bob McNair until his death in 2018; after McNair’s death, his wife, Janice, took over primary control of the franchise.

The Houston Oilers, who played from 1960 until 1996 before moving to Nashville and becoming the Tennessee Titans, were the previous NFL franchise in the city. The Texans joined the NFL as an expansion team in 2002, making them the league’s youngest franchise.

While the Texans struggled in their first decade, they finally broke through in 2011, capturing their first division title and securing their first postseason berth. In 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018, and 2019, the Texans won five more AFC South championships.

They are, however, the only franchise that has never played in a conference championship game as of the 2020 season.

Houston Texans Jerseys and Team Colors

Houston Texans jersey

The Houston Texans’ colors are battle red and deep steel blue.


The Texans’ home color is red, which would look fantastic. The lower bowl of NRG Stadium is all blue, with the endzone painted in the same color as the team’s current home default jerseys. In terms of contrast, having the red as the default would be preferable.


Write A Comment