The New York Jets are an American football team headquartered in New York City. The Jets are a part of the NFL’s American Football Conference (AFC) East division. The Jets play at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, 5 miles (8.0 km) west of Manhattan. The team is based in Florham Park, NJ. The franchise is incorporated as New York Jets, LLC.

The Titans of New York were created in 1959 and joined the NFL in 1970 after the AFL–NFL merger. At the Polo Grounds since 1960. Under new ownership, the team moved to Shea Stadium in 1964, then to the Meadowlands Sports Complex in 1984.

The Jets made the playoffs for the first time in 1968 and beat the Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl III to become the first AFL team to beat an NFL franchise. The Jets have been to the AFC Championship Game four times since 1968, losing to the Pittsburgh Steelers in 2010.

Unlike the New Orleans Saints, the Jets have never won an AFC title and are one of four clubs (together with the Cleveland Browns, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Houston Texans) to have never won a Super Bowl. The Jets’ drought is the longest among current NFL organizations, surpassing that of the Browns and Detroit Lions, who both won NFL titles prior to 1966.

The Atlantic Health Jets Training Center debuted in Florham Park in 2008.

How Many Numbers have the New York Jets retired?

The New York Jets have retired 5 jerseys as of February 2022.

New York Jets Retired Jersey Numbers

  • Joe Namath (12)
  • Don Maynard (13)
  • Curtis Marin (28)
  • Joe Klecko (73)
  • Dennis Byrd (90)

Write A Comment