Kyle David Whittingham is a former player and coach in the National Football League. He has been the head football coach at the University of Utah since 2004, and he is the school’s all-time winning leader.

Whittingham spent ten seasons as Utah’s defensive coordinator before taking over as head coach. After Urban Meyer left Utah for the University of Florida in 2004,

he was named head coach. After directing the 2008 Utah Utes football team to an undefeated season and a win in the 2009 Sugar Bowl over Alabama, he was named AFCA Coach of the Year and received the Paul “Bear” Bryant Award.

From 1978 to 1981, Whittingham was a linebacker for the BYU Cougars. He was named first-team All-WAC as well as WAC Defensive Player of the Year in 1981.

After graduating from BYU in 1981, he played linebacker for the USFL’s Denver Gold and New Orleans Breakers, as well as the CFL’s Calgary Stampeders.

In 198, he was also a member of the Los Angeles Rams’ substitute squad. During the 1985 and 1986 seasons, Whittingham worked as a graduate assistant for BYU. Whittingham became the defensive coordinator for the College of Eastern Utah in 1987.

Kyle Whittingham Championships and Awards

Pac-12 (2021)
MWC (2008)
Pac-12 South Division (2015, 2018–2019, 2021)
WAC Defensive Player of the Year (1981)[2]
AFCA Coach of the Year (2008)
Paul “Bear” Bryant Award (2008)
MWC Coach of the Year (2008)
2× Pac-12 Coach of the Year (2019, 2021)
Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year (2019)

Write A Comment