Major League Baseball’s playoffs finish with the World Series, the league’s championship series each year. There is a seven-game World Series title playoff, which began in 1903, between the National League (NL) and American League (AL) champions.

Aside from 1904, when the NL champion New York Giants declined to play the AL champion Boston Americans, and in 1994, when the series was called off due to the players’ strike, the modern World Series has been played every year since 1903.

With two victories in the early 1900s (1906 and 1917) and a third 88 years later in 2005, the White Sox have won three World Series titles. As a reference to their location in relation to Chicago’s other big-league baseball team, the Cubs; they are known as “South Siders”.

The 1906 Season:

The 1906 season marked the Chicago White Sox’s seventh season in the big leagues overall, and their sixth season in the American League. It was the Red Sox’s second American League pennant and first World Series triumph in as many years.

The 1917 Season:

During the 1917 World Series, the Chicago White Sox won four games to two over the New York Giants. World War I dominated the headlines in the United States during the year and the next year, as did the World Series.

The 2005 Season:

The 2005 World Series was the last round of the 2005 MLB season’s playoffs. The American League (AL) champion Chicago White Sox and the National League (NL) champion Houston Astros squared off in the 101st World Series.  The White Sox won their third World Series title and first in 88 seasons after sweeping the Astros in four games.

List of All World Series Titles Won By Chicago White Sox


Chicago White Sox over Chicago Cubs (4-2)


Chicago White Sox over New York Giants (4-2)


Chicago White Sox over Houston Astros (4-0)


Write A Comment