The Dolphins have made 23 postseason appearances in their 55-year history, with five of those appearances taking them to the Super Bowl. The team has then produced a number of outstanding running backs.  Below are my best five.

Jim Kiick

Even though Jim Kiick was with Dolphins from 1968, he appeared at playoffs from 1970 to 1974. He rushed for at least 1,000 yards in each of his first four seasons, leading the Dolphins in rushing in 1968 and 1969, and led the AFL with nine touchdowns in 1969.  He was born on  August 9, 1946.

Tony Nathan

Tony Nathan rushed for 64 yards and a touchdown in the Dolphins’ 45-28 triumph against the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 1985 AFC Championship game, and he also caught eight passes for 114 yards. In nine NFL seasons, he rushed for 3,543 yards, 383 receptions for 3,592 yards, and 32 touchdowns.

Mercury Morris

Born on January 5, 1947, Eugene Edward Morris, also known as mercury Morris has a total rushing yard of 4,133 and a returning yard of  3,118. He has 31 touchdowns and 3 return touchdowns.

Ricky Williams

For the Dolphins, Williams holds the single-game (228 yards) and single-season (1,853) rushing records, as well as the single-season rushing touchdown record (16).

All of these accomplishments occurred after he was acquired by the Dolphins in a trade with the Saints in 2002. He added 216 yards against the Bears after his 228-yard performance against the Bills, putting him in first place in the league in rushing.

Larry Csonka

From 1971 to 1973, Larry rushed for more than 1,000 yards in each season, and he became the first player in franchise history to accomplish it.

Csonka and the Dolphins progressed to the Super Bowl each of those seasons, partnering with Hall of Fame quarterback Bob Griese and facing one of the top defensive teams in the league. They won the title in 1972 and 1973, with Csonka winning the MVP award in the 1973 victory over the Vikings.


Write A Comment