The Philadelphia Eagles are an American football team headquartered in Philadelphia that competes in the National Football League.

The Philadelphia Eagles are a member club of the National Football League (NFLNational )’s Football Conference (NFC) East division and compete in the National Football League (NFL). Lincoln Financial Field is the venue where the team plays its home games.

The franchise was founded in 1933 as a replacement for the bankrupt Frankford Yellow Jackets after a syndicate led by Bert Bell was successful in obtaining the rights to an NFL team in Philadelphia.

With 27 playoff appearances and 11 division titles (including one in the NFC East) under their belts since their inception, the Eagles have also competed in four pre-merger NFL Championship Games (winning three of them in 1948, 1949, and 1960), and have competed in three NFL Championship Games, winning Super Bowl LII at the conclusion of the 2017 season.

Bell, Chuck Bednarik, Bob Brown, Brian Dawkins, Reggie White, Steve Van Buren, Tommy McDonald, Dick Vermeil, Greasy Neale, Pete Pihos, Harold Carmichael, Sonny Jurgensen, and Norm Van Brocklin were all inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year. Norm Van Brocklin was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year.

The Worst Philadelphia Eagles Team in History

The 1997-1998 Team

When the bottom fell out in 1998, it was after a see-saw 6–9–1 campaign in 1997. The Eagles finished with a 3–13 record, which was their worst in franchise history, and were ranked dead bottom in a slew of offensive categories.

Home attendance was dwindling, a quarterback issue was wreaking havoc on an already rudderless locker room, and the players had all but turned their backs on the struggling coaching staff.

After a dismal season, a fan uprising, and deteriorating team morale, Lurie was forced to remove Rhodes and replace him with Green Bay Packers quarterback coach Andy Reid as head coach, which he did without hesitation.


Write A Comment