The Pittsburgh Steelers are an American football team headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Steelers are a member of the American Football Conference (AFC) North division of the National Football League (NFL). The Steelers, who were founded in 1933, are the NFL’s seventh-oldest franchise and the AFC’s oldest.

The Steelers of the post-merger (modern) period, in contrast to their status as perennial also-rans in the pre-merger NFL, where they were the oldest team never to win a league championship, are among the most successful NFL franchises.

The franchise has six Super Bowl championships, tied with the New England Patriots, and has appeared in (sixteen times) and hosted (eleven times) more conference championship games than any other team in the NFL. The Steelers have also won eight AFC titles, tying the Denver Broncos for the most, but falling short of the Patriots’ record of eleven.

Pittsburgh Steelers Greatest Defensive Tackler In History

Joe Greene takes the top spot. Greene, the Steel Curtain’s cornerstone and arguably the best Steeler ever changed the course of Pittsburgh Steelers’ history. Greene, the 4th overall draft pick in 1969, adapted well to the NFL, winning Defensive Rookie of the Year in 1969. That was only the tip.

Greene was selected to 10 Pro Bowls (1969-1976, 1978-1979), five First-Team All-Pro selections (1972-1974, 1977, 1979), three Second-Team All-Pro selections (1971, 1975-1976), and was named the NFL Man of the Year in 1979.

He won four Super Bowls in 1974, 1975, 1978, and 1979, establishing the Steelers as a dynasty and immortalizing the Steel Curtain as one of the greatest defenses ever.

Greene was also a tough nut to crack, missing only nine games in his All-Pro, 1970s All-Decade, and Pittsburgh Steelers All-Time Teams. He is a member of the College and NFL Halls of Fames. His #75 jersey was retired together with Stautner’s.

Steelers Best Defensive Tacklers Of All-Time

10. Stephon Tuitt (2014-Present)
9. Brett Keisel (2002-2014)
8. Aaron Smith (1999-2011)
7. Ernie Holmes (1971-1978)
6. Cameron Heyward (2011-Present)
5. Casey Hampton (2001-2012)
4. Dwight White (1971-1980)
3. Ernie Stautner (1950-1963)
2. L.C. Greenwood (1969-1981)
1. Joe Greene (1969-1981)


Write A Comment