The Pittsburgh Steelers are an American football team headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Steelers are a member of the American Football Conference (AFC) North division of the National Football League (NFL). The Steelers, who were founded in 1933, are the NFL’s seventh-oldest franchise and the AFC’s oldest.

The Steelers of the post-merger (modern) period, in contrast to their status as perennial also-rans in the pre-merger NFL, where they were the oldest team never to win a league championship, are among the most successful NFL franchises.

The franchise has six Super Bowl championships, tied with the New England Patriots, and has appeared in (sixteen times) and hosted (eleven times) more conference championship games than any other team in the NFL. The Steelers have also won eight AFC titles, tying the Denver Broncos for the most, but falling short of the Patriots’ record of eleven.

With eight Super Bowl appearances, the franchise is tied for second place with the Denver Broncos and Dallas Cowboys. On February 6, 2011, they lost their most recent championship appearance, Super Bowl XLV.

Pittsburgh Steelers Greatest Tight End In History

Earl Miller remains the greatest tight end to have ever played for the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Earl Heath Miller Jr. (born October 22, 1982) is a retired American football tight end who spent 11 seasons with the Pittsburgh Steelers of the National Football League (NFL) between 2005 and 2015. Miller earned All-American accolades and the John Mackey Award while playing collegiate football for the University of Virginia.

With the 30th overall choice in the 2005 NFL Draft, the Steelers selected him in the first round.

The Best Pittsburgh Steelers Tight Ends Of All Time

  • Heath Miller
  • Pat Freiermuth
  • Mark Bruener
  • Eric Green
  • Bennie Cunningham
  • Randy Grossman
  • Vance McDonald
  • Jesse James
  • Matt Spaeth
  • Preston Carpenter

Write A Comment