The Tampa Bay Rays have only had one former player elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame in their 23 years of existence.

Veteran players nearing the conclusion of their careers have graced the Rays’ roster in recent years. Big-league talents on the club include Wade Boggs, Fred McGriff, and Jose Canseco.

The Tampa Bay Rays only have one player in the Hall of Fame: Wade Boggs.



Wade Anthony Boggs, born on June 15, 1958, is a former Major League Baseball third baseman who hails from the United States.

The majority of his time in baseball was spent with the Boston Red Sox, with whom he played for 18 seasons. The Yankees (1993-1997) and the Tampa Bay Devil Rays (1997-2002) were also among his previous stops (1998-1999).

He helped the Yankees win the World Series in 1996. Boggs became the 23rd player in MLB history to achieve the 3,000-hit plateau.

As a power hitter in the American League during the 1980s and 1990s, he was a regular candidate for the batting championship.

Among Major League Baseball players with at least 1,000 plate appearances, he is 33rd on the list of all-time leaders in hitting average. After being inducted into both the Red Sox Hall of Fame and the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2004, Boggs has been inducted into both.


Write A Comment