The Philadelphia Eagles are a Philadelphia-based American football team. The Eagles are a part of the NFL’s National Football Conference (NFC) East division. The squad calls Lincoln Financial Field home.

A syndicate led by Bert Bell obtained the rights to an NFL club in Philadelphia in 1933, replacing the insolvent Frankford Yellow Jackets. The Eagles have made the playoffs 27 times, won 14 division titles (11 in the NFC East), three pre-merger NFL Championship Games (1948, 1949, and 1960), and three Super Bowls (winning Super Bowl LII in 2017).

Bill Bell, Chuck Bednarik, Brian Dawkins, Reggie White, Steve Van Buren, Tommy McDonald, Greasy Neale, and Norm Van Brocklin have all been elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Over their 89 years of existence, they have had a couple of great kickers. In this article, we will talk about 5 of them.

5 Best Philadelphia Eagles Kickers Of All Time

David Akers

David Roy Akers is a former American football placekicker who spent 16 seasons with the Philadelphia Eagles. He joined the Washington Redskins in 1998 after being cut by the Atlanta Falcons and Carolina Panthers. He spent 12 seasons with the Eagles after that. Akers played for the 49ers and Lions before retiring in 2013.

Akers was selected to six Pro Bowls and twice first-team All-Pro. He also made a 63-yard field goal, which is the third-longest in NFL history. Akers was inducted into the Eagles Hall of Fame and was chosen to the NFC 2000s All-Decade Team.

Jake Elliott

Jake Daniel Elliott is an American football placekicker for the National Football League’s Philadelphia Eagles. He was a member of the Memphis Tigers football team in college. He was a member of the Super Bowl LII winning team for the Philadelphia Eagles, which defeated the New England Patriots.

Tom Dempsey

Thomas John Dempsey was an American football placekicker with the New Orleans Saints, Philadelphia Eagles, Los Angeles Rams, Houston Oilers, and Buffalo Bills. Unlike the increasingly popular “soccer-style” approach, Dempsey kicked with the classic straight-toe method. In 1970, with the Saints, he made a 63-yard ( goal that set an NFL record.

Tony Franklin

Anthony Ray Franklin was a kicker in the NFL from 1979 to 1988 with the Philadelphia Eagles, New England Patriots, and Miami Dolphins. Franklin was a barefoot kicker. He went to Texas A&M for football.

Paul McFadden

Paul McFadden is a former NFL placekicker. He was a kicker at Youngstown State University. McFadden was famed for his barefoot kicking.

He debuted with the Philadelphia Eagles in 1984. Rookie of the Year, NFC Rookie of the Year, and Co-MVP of the Eagles that season. He was the Eagles’ Co-MVP in 1985 and stayed with them until 1987. He finished his career with the New York Giants (1988) and Atlanta Falcons (1989). His last NFL game was in 1989.


Write A Comment