One of the several American football teams headquartered in the DC metro region is known as the Washington Football Team (WFT). The franchise, formerly known as the Washington Redskins, is a member of the National Football Conference East division of the National Football League.

The Redskins were created in 1932 as the Boston Braves; they changed their name in 1934. In 1937, the franchise was relocated to Washington, D.C.

Listed here is the entire coaching staff for the Washington Redskins of the NFL. To date, the team has had 30 head coaches, including those who led the team when they were called the Boston Braves in 1932, the Boston Redskins  from 1933 through 1936, and the Washington Redskins from 1937 to 2019.

Only Joe Gibbs has been a head coach for more than one period of time. Both Ray Flaherty and Joe Gibbs, who coached the club from 1982 through 1991, have won NFL titles with the squad.

Among active coaches, Gibbs holds the record for the most games and victories coached, while Dudley DeGroot has the all-time record for the highest win percentage (.737). Seven coaches have been honored with induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, including   Ray Flaherty, Curly Lambeau, Otto Graham, Vince Lombardi, George Allen, and Gibbs.

COACHES                            TIME OF TENURE

Lud Wray                                       1932
Lone Star Dietz                            1933–1934
Eddie Casey                                 1935
Ray Flaherty                              1936–1942
Dutch Bergman                        1943
Dudley DeGroot                        1944–1945
Turk Edwards                          1946–1948
John Whelchel                          1949
Herman Ball                          1949–1951
Dick Todd                                    1951
Curly Lambeau                           1952–1953
Joe Kuharich                            1954–1958
Mike Nixon                             1959–1960
Bill McPeak                              1961–1965
Otto Graham                             1966–1968
Vince Lombardi                            1969
Bill Austin                                       1970
George Allen                             1971–1977
Jack Pardee                                 1978–1980
Joe Gibbs                                1981–1992/2004–2007
Richie Petitbon                                1993
Norv Turner                               1994–2000
Terry Robiskie                                    2000
Marty Schottenheimer                      2001
Steve Spurrier                                2002–2003
Jim Zorn                                     2008–2009
Mike Shanahan                           2010–2013
Jay Gruden                               2014–2019
Bill Callahan                                2019
Ron Rivera                            2020–present


Write A Comment