The Kansas City Royals are a professional baseball team headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri, in the United States. The Royals are a member of the American League (AL) Central division of Major League Baseball (MLB). The team was created in 1969 as an expansion franchise and has been in four World Series games, conquering in 1985 and 2015 and falling in 1980 and 2014.

The name “Royals” is a nod to the American Royal, a cattle fair, horse show, rodeo, and championship barbecue contest held in Kansas City every year since 1899, as well as the similar names of two previous Negro league baseball clubs from the early twentieth century.

The club was formed by Kansas City billionaire Ewing Kauffman and joined the American League in 1969 alongside the Seattle Pilots.

After the Athletics relocated to Oakland, California in 1968, then-U.S. Senator Stuart Symington demanded a new franchise for the city. Kauffman Stadium, originally known as Royals Stadium, has hosted Royals games since April 10, 1973.

Kansas City Royals Best Season So Far

1977 With a record of 102-60

The Royals struggled to get off to a good start in 1977, a year after winning the franchise’s first American League West title. They were fortunate to be lingering around for the first three months. After losing to the Mariners on June 23, they sat at 33-33.

From August 31 to September 15, the Royals won 16 games in a row, a team record that holds today. After a 51-22 second-half record, Kansas City finished with 102 wins on the season (.699 winning percentage). With 23 home runs and 88 RBIs, first baseman John Mayberry and right fielder Al Cowens led the team. Third baseman George Brett hit 22 home runs and drove in 88 runs. With 20 victories and a 3.04 ERA, starter Dennis Leonard topped the pitching rotation.


Write A Comment