Who Founded New York Yankees?

The New York Yankees are a professional baseball team based in the Bronx neighborhood of New York City. The Yankees are a part of the American League East division in Major League Baseball.

Yankee Global Enterprises, an LLC managed by the descendants of the late George Steinbrenner, who bought the franchise in 1973, owns the team. The team’s general manager is Brian Cashman, and the field manager is Aaron Boone. From 1923 to 1973, and again from 1976 to 2008, the team’s home games were held in the old Yankee Stadium.

New York Yankees Founder

The Baltimore Orioles were the Yankees’ first opponents in 1901. (no relation to the modern Baltimore Orioles). After the franchise suspended operations in 1903, Frank Farrell and Bill Devery purchased it and relocated it to New York City, dubbing the team the New York Highlanders.

Frank J. Farrell (c. 1866) Born on February 10, 1926, was a baseball executive in the United States. The New York Highlanders were founded by him and William S. Devery (now New York Yankees). On January 9, 1903, they paid $18,000 for the Baltimore Orioles and relocated them to New York City.


William Stephen Devery, on the other hand also known as “Big Bill,” was the last inspector and first police chief of the New York City Police Department in 1898. Devery and Frank J. Farrell later co-owned the Major League Baseball team the New York Yankees. He was born on January 9, 1854.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *