How Many Numbers Have The Kansas City Chiefs retired?

The Kansas City Chiefs in the history of their franchise have retired a total of 10 Jersey numbers. Number 3,16,18,28 33, 36,58 ,63, 78, and 86 are the jersey numbers that have been retired.

The Kansas City Chiefs are an American football team headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri. They compete in the National Football League (NFL). The Chiefs are a member club in the American Football Conference West division of the National Football League.

The Dallas Texans were created as a charter member of the American Football League in 1960 by industrialist Lamar Hunt. The team relocated to Kansas City in the spring of 1963, adopting its present moniker. The Chiefs became a member of the NFL in 1970 as a result of the merger, and the team is now worth more than $2 billion. Clark Hunt, Hunt’s son, is chairman and chief executive officer. While Hunt’s ownership shares were transferred to his widow and children upon his 2006 death, Clark serves as the team’s operational president.

Chiefs won three AFL championships and were the second AFL team to defeat an NFL team in a final game of the AFL–NFL World Championship Game, defeating the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl IV. Just a week after the victory, on January 11, 1970, leagues began merging into one.

Jersey Numbers Retired By Kansas City Chiefs

No.             Player                 Position                          Tenure

3            Jan Stenerud              K                            1967–1979
16          Len Dawson             QB                           1962–1975
18          Emmitt Thomas        CB                           1966–1978
28          Abner Haynes           RB                           1960–1964
33          Stone Johnson          RB                             1963
36          Mack Lee Hill            RB                           1964–1965
58       Derrick Thomas            LB                           1989–1999
63       Willie Lanier                  LB                           1967–1977
78        Bobby Bell                   LB                            1963–1974
86     Buck Buchanan               DT                           1963–1975


Write A Comment