The Tennessee Titans are an American football team situated in Nashville, Tennessee. They are individuals from the South Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL). Recently known as the Houston Oilers, the then Houston, Texas, group started to play in 1960 as a sanctioned individual from the AFL American Football League.

The Houston Oilers won two AFL titles prior to joining the NFL as a feature of the AFL-NFL consolidation. In 1999, the Tennessee Titans played their most important season since joining the NFL, when they made it the whole way to Super Bowl XXXIV, yet they tumbled to the Kurt Warner-drove St. Louis Rams.

Jersey Numbers Retired By Tennessee Titans

Warren Moon – #1

Warren Moon, the fourth driving passer in NFL history, played 10 years (1984-93) with the association and holds the establishment records for passing yards (33,685) and scores (196), while driving the Oilers to seven back to back season finisher appearances from 1987-93.

Moon’s best season came in 1990, tossing for 4,689 yards (363-for-584) and 33 scores in just 15 games and turning into the third player in NFL history to create back-to-back 4,000-yard passing seasons. He acquired AP NFL Offensive Player of the Year for his endeavors and his third Pro Bowl compartment. His jersey was resigned in a halftime service in Nashville on Oct. 1, 2006.

Steve McNair – #9

Steve McNair was the third generally draft pick in 1995 by the Houston Oilers, and he made No.9 an extraordinary one during his profession. McNair played from 1995-to 2005 with the Oilers/Titans. In 11 seasons with the Titans, McNair set group standards and gathered the most successes of any quarterback in Titans/Oilers history.

Eddie George – #27

A first-round pick by the Titans in 1996, Eddie George made the No. 27 amazing in Tennessee. George is the Titans/Oilers record holder for professional surging yards (10,009), in front of Hall of Famer Earl Campbell (9,407). He completed his profession with 10,441 yards. George is the main running back in NFL history to record at least 300 conveys for eight successive seasons.

Earl Campbell – #34

Campbell, the franchise’s second driving rusher and an individual from the Pro Football Hall of Fame, was respected by having his number resigned at functions on Aug. 13, 1987. He set a solitary season club record with an association driving 1,450 yards his youngster season.

Jim Norton #43

Jim Norton played nine seasons for the Oilers (1960-68) as a security and as a punter, setting up group records at the two positions. As a tenderfoot from the University of Idaho, Norton was an individual from the Oilers’ 1960 AFL Championship group. A four-time association elite player, he holds the club record for most interferences in a vocation with 45.

Mike Munchak – #63

Mike Munchak joined the Oilers as a first-round draft choice in 1982 from Penn State. He was the main hostile lineman chosen in the draft and the eighth generally speaking determination. Munchak won the beginning left watchman position as a freshman and proceeded to play in 12 missions (1982-93) and 159 games (156 beginnings) for the Oilers.


Write A Comment