The Oakland Athletics has so far won 15 Al Pennant titles. They include 1902, 1905, 1910, 1911, 1913, 1914, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1988, 1989, and 1990 seasons.

At the end of each Major League Baseball (MLB) season, one American League (AL) team wins the pennant, indicating that they have won the league’s championship and earned the opportunity to compete in the World Series against the winner of the National League (NL) (NL). Until the 1968 season, the American League (AL) pennant was awarded to the club with the greatest win-loss record each year.

After that, the American League Championship Series (ALCS) was established to determine the pennant winner. The first modern World Series was played in 1903, and since then, with the exception of 1904, it has been held every season with the exception of 1994, when a players’ strike forced the postseason to be canceled. The Houston Astros are the current American League pennant winners, having won the championship on October 22, 2021.

The Yankees have 40 AL pennants between 1921 and 2009. The Oakland Athletics, who have won 15 games, have won more than twice as many. The Boston Red Sox and Detroit Tigers have won 14 and 11 pennants, respectively.

The Yankees have won the most ALCS titles (11), followed by the Athletics, Red Sox, and Baltimore Orioles (6, 6, and 5). The 1998 Yankees won 114 out of 162 games, ending 22 games ahead of the Boston Red Sox. The 1954 Cleveland Indians won 111 of their 154 games, finishing eight games ahead of the Yankees. The Milwaukee Brewers won the AL pennant in 1982 before switching to the NL in 1998.


Write A Comment