Wild cards were introduced in 1994 to provide the top teams that didn’t win their division a chance to compete for a World Series championship. To avoid having to create a wild card for the best second-place club in both the American League and National League, the move from two to three divisions necessitated a first-round bye for one team in each league.

With the inclusion of the wild card, it was possible for teams with the second-best records in each league to go to the postseason regardless of where they played in their respective divisions. As a result of the 1994–95 Major League Baseball players’ strike, the 1995 postseason saw the first-ever appearance of a wild card club.

The Atlanta Braves have won the Wild Card Berth twice since its was founded.They won it in 2010 and 2012.

Here is a list of all AL Wild Card Berths Titles Won By Atlanta Braves.

2010 Wild Card Berth

The 2010 Atlanta Braves season was the team’s 45th in Atlanta, 135th in the National League, and 140th overall. The Braves were attempting to recover a playoff berth for the first time since 2005 during this game. This was Bobby Cox’s final season as manager of the Braves after leading the team for 25 seasons. It was their 135th season overall and their 45th in Atlanta. Despite a 91–71 record, the Braves won the NL Wild Card and advanced to the NLDS, where they were beaten by the San Francisco Giants in four games.

2012 Wild Card Berth

During the 2012 season, the Atlanta Braves played their 47th and 142nd seasons, respectively, at Turner Field. The Braves returned to the playoffs for the second time in three seasons as a Wild Card club, with a record of 94-68, following a late-season collapse in 2011. They were defeated by the St. Louis Cardinals in the one-game Wild Card Playoffs.


Write A Comment