List of All World Series Titles Won By Los Angeles Angels

The Angels won the World Series in 2002, marking their first and only participation in the final game to this day. Their only trip to the World Series made them one of just three MLB teams to ever win the championship game.

Professional baseball’s Los Angeles Angels are from the city of Los Angeles and play their home games at the Staples Center. The Los Angeles Angels are a member of the American League (AL) West division in Major League Baseball (MLB). To date, the Angels are the only MLB franchise with roots in California. Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California, has been the team’s home stadium since 1966.

As one of the original two MLB expansion clubs, the Los Angeles Angels were created in 1961 by Gene Autry in Los Angeles and were renamed after an earlier Angels organization that had previously played in the PCL (PCL). Up to their 1966 move to Anaheim, the team was based in Los Angeles.

When the team relocated to Anaheim in 1997, the team was renamed the Anaheim Angels, and they remained that name until 2004. In 2005, the city of Los Angeles was added to the team’s name, but until 2015, the team was known as the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim due to a leasing arrangement. The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim adopted their present moniker, which is still used today.

The 2002 World Series Championship

The American League (AL) champion Los Angeles Angels faced off against the National League (NL) champion San Francisco Giants in the 98th World Series, a best-of-seven series. The AL champion Angels prevailed, 4 games to 3, to capture their first and only World Series title. The games took place in San Francisco at Pacific Bell Park and Anaheim at Edison International Field between October 19 and 27, 2002.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *