The Los Angeles Angels are an American professional baseball team based in the Los Angeles metropolitan area. The club plies their trade in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) West division.

The “Los Angeles Angels” name starts from the main Los Angeles-based games group, the Los Angeles Angels, who took the name “Heavenly messengers” from the English interpretation of “Los Angeles”, and that signifies “The Angels” in Spanish. The team name began in 1892; in 1903, the group name proceeded in L.A. through the PCL, which is currently a small-time member of MiLB.

The Angel’s establishment of today was set up in MLB in 1961 after the previous proprietor Gene Autry purchased the freedoms to proceed with the establishment name from Walter O’Malley, the previous Los Angeles Dodgers proprietor who had obtained the establishment from Phil Wrigley, the proprietor of the Chicago Cubs at that point.

As expressed in the book Under the Halo: The Official History of Angels Baseball, “Autry consented to purchase the establishment name for $350,000 and proceed with the historical backdrop of the beforehand famous Pacific Coast League group as his own development group in the MLB.

Los Angeles Angels’ Worst season In History

The Los Angeles Angels had their worst record in a season in 1980. The club finished 6th in the American League West with a record of 65 wins and 95 losses.


Write A Comment