Which Countries Share Border with Ukraine?

Ukraine shares boundaries with the following countries: Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Moldova, Russia, and Belarus.

The Ukrainian border stretches 6,992.98 kilometers in length (4,345.24 mi). The delimitation and demarcation of the borders with Russia, Belarus, and Moldova (former Soviet Union countries) has yet to be completed.

The Ukrainian border patrol service inherited the Soviet border patrol service, which was recreated after the Soviet Union fell apart.

Work on border delimitation with Russia began in 1998 but has since halted due to a dispute over the sea boundary. Ukraine has begun work on demarcating its borders with Russia and Belarus since the end of the Russo-Ukrainian conflict.

The Budapest Memorandum on Security Assurances, signed in 1994, pledged that its signatories (Russia, the United States of America, and the United Kingdom) would preserve Ukraine’s current boundaries, among other things.

Ukraine’s land border with the following countries is 5,637.98 kilometers long (3,503.28 mi). There are no Ukrainian enclaves in other countries, and all of Ukraine’s territory is consistent.

Outside of Ukraine’s territorial waters, the southern border of Ukraine serves as an external boundary. Ukraine is bordered by Romania and Russia via water.

Over a 33-mile section of the Black Sea, Romania’s border with Ukraine is a boundary between Ukrainian territorial waters and the Romanian Economic Zone, a distinction between the two.

The Snake Island is part of Ukraine’s territorial seas. The Ukrainian Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), which spans from the Black Sea coast to the Kerch Strait, is 22,224 m (72,913 ft) long.




Write A Comment