The Detroit Lions are a Detroit-based professional American football team. The Lions are a member of the National Football Conference (NFC) North division of the National Football League (NFL). The team’s home games are held at Ford Field in Detroit.

The Portsmouth Spartans were created in Portsmouth, Ohio, and entered the NFL on July 12, 1930.  The squad was relocated to Detroit in 1934 due to financial difficulties. In honor of the city’s Major League Baseball (MLB) team, the Tigers, the team has been renamed the Lions.

Between 1935 through 1957, the Lions won four NFL Championship Games, all before the Super Bowl era. Since winning the championship in 1957, the team has only won one playoff game, in 1991, and has never moved past the NFC Championship Game.

They are the oldest NFL team to have never played in the Super Bowl, as well as the only franchise to have been in existence for the entire Super Bowl period and the only NFC team to have done so.

Chris Spelman Most Touchdowns

With 1,138 career tackles, he is Detroit’s all-time tackle leader (since the team began recording tackles statistically in 1973.) Spielman played in four Pro Bowls for the Lions in 1990–92, 1995 and was voted defensive MVP in both 1993 and 1994. He is the team’s most impressive over time.




Write A Comment