In the history of the Patriots, only seven numbers have been retired: Gino Cappelletti (20), Mike Haynes (40), Steve Nelson (57), Bruce Armstrong (78), Jim Lee Hunt (79), and Bob Dee (89). Only Hannah and Haynes have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, and Gronkowski is on his way there.

(20) Gino Cappelletti

Cappelletti is a member of the Patriots Hall of Fame, the All-Decades Team of the Patriots, and the AFL Hall of Fame. Until July 2012, he was the radio color commentator for the Patriots. “The Duke” and “Mr. Patriot” were two of his nicknames.

Mike Haynes (40)

Michael James Haynes (born July 1, 1953) is an American former professional football cornerback who played for the New England Patriots and the Los Angeles Raiders in the National Football League (NFL).

He was a standout defensive back and an amazing punt return specialist thanks to his speed, agility, and range. In 2000, Haynes was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, and in 1997, he was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Steve Nelson (57)

From 1974 through 1987, he was a professional linebacker with the New England Patriots of the National Football League (NFL). From 1998 through 2005, he was the head football coach at Curry College in Milton, Massachusetts, where he had a 64–22 record.

Bruce Armstrong (78)

Bruce Charles Armstrong (born September 7, 1965) is a retired American football offensive lineman who spent his entire 14-year career with the New England Patriots in the National Football League (NFL).

He was selected in the first round (23rd overall) of the 1987 draft out of the University of Louisville, where he was a four-year varsity athlete who was voted “Most Outstanding Lineman” after his senior season.

Jim Lee Hunt (79)

Jim Lee “Earthquake” Hunt (October 5, 1938 – November 22, 1975) was an American football defensive tackle who played for the American Football League’s Boston Patriots from 1960 to 1969 and the NFL’s Boston Patriots in 1970.

He was a four-time AFL All-Star and one of just 20 guys to play in the league for the whole 10 years. He was occasionally utilized as a defensive end. He was a member of the Prairie View A&M Panthers in collegiate football.

Bob Dee (89)

Bob Dee was the AFL’s Ironman, never missing a game in his career. Dee is a Quincy native who graduated from Holy Cross College. Dee started 112 straight games for the Patriots from 1960 to 1967, using the same helmet virtually every game.

In a preseason game against Buffalo, he scored the first AFL touchdown by diving onto a turnover. Entered the Patriots Hall of Fame in 1993 after being selected to four AFL All-Star teams.

John Hannah

John Allen Hannah (born April 4, 1951) is an American retired football guard who played 13 seasons in the NFL with the New England Patriots. He was an All-American at Alabama and the Patriots drafted him fourth overall in the 1973 NFL Draft.

Hannah was named to nine Pro Bowls and seven first-team All-Pro teams throughout his career. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1999. In the same year, he was inducted into the New England Patriots Hall of Fame.


Write A Comment