The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum is a museum and hall of fame in Cleveland that honors those who have contributed to the invention and distribution of rock music by celebrating its history and cultural relevance.

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

The label was founded in 1983 by a group of prominent music business professionals, including Ahmet Ertegun, co-founder of Atlantic Records, and Jann Wenner, publisher of Rolling Stone magazine.

The museum and hall of fame were founded by the nonprofit Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, which began inducting recipients in 1986.

The museum’s remarkable 150,000-square-foot (14,000-square-meter) glass-dominated edifice, an angular assemblage of geometric shapes placed on the edge of Lake Erie, was created by architect I.M. Pei.

All You Need To Know About Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees 2022

On Wednesday morning, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland released its selection of 14 new inductees for 2022.

The class of 2021 was chosen by a committee of over 1,000 people, including previous entrants, historians, and professionals in the music industry.

The annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame fan poll is also taken into account when determining the ultimate decision.

A solo artist or band must have released their first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination to be considered for induction.

Performer Category

  • Pat Benatar
  • Duran Duran (first-time nominee)
  • Eminem (first-time nominee, first-year eligible)
  • Eurythmics
  • Dolly Parton (first-time nominee)
  • Lionel Richie (first-time nominee)
  • Carly Simon (first-time nominee)

Musical Excellence Award

  • Judas Priest
  • Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis

Early Influence Award

  • Harry Belafonte
  • Elizabeth Cotten

Ahmet Ertegun Award

  • Allen Grubman
  • Jimmy Iovine
  • Sylvia Robinson



Write A Comment