List of All AL West Division Titles Won By Minnesota Twins

Baseball’s National League The American League’s West Division is one of three divisions. As of the 2013 season, the division includes five clubs, down from seven prior to the 1994 restructuring and four from 1994 to 2012. It was the only MLB division with four clubs in the AL West

Since its inception, Minnesota Twin was the first team to win it, and in consecutive times. They won it in 1969,1970,1987 and 1991.

The 1968 Season

The 1969 Minnesota Twins won the American League West with a record of 97–65, nine games ahead of second-place Oakland Athletics, who finished in second place. The Baltimore Orioles defeated the Minnesota Twins in the inaugural American League Championship Series, taking both games at Baltimore.

The 1970 Season

The 1970 Minnesota Twins won the American League West with a record of 98–64, nine games ahead of the Oakland Athletics, who finished second in the division. In the American League Championship Series, the Baltimore Orioles swept the Minnesota Twins. Against the Orioles, the Twins were the only American League team to have a winning regular-season record vs them.

The 1987 Season

The Twins finished the season with an American League West best record of 85-77, two games ahead of the Royals in second place. The team’s winning percentage of.525 was the lowest ever recorded by a World Series champion. Minnesota’s 85-77 record was the lowest for a World Series champion in almost twenty years until the Cardinals’ 83-78 win in 2006.

The 1991 Season

For the first time since 1990, the Twins finished above.500 in the AL West, with a 95-67 record and a first-place finish in the division.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *