The Minnesota Twins are a baseball club in Minneapolis. The Twins contend in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a part club of the American League (AL) Central Division. The club is named after the Twin Cities region which incorporates the two connecting urban areas of Minneapolis and St. Paul.

The franchise was established in Washington, D.C., in 1901 as the Washington Senators. The group moved to Minnesota and was renamed the Minnesota Twins at the beginning of the 1961 season. The Twins played in Metropolitan Stadium from 1961 to 1981 and in the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome from 1982 to 2009. The group played its debut game at Target Field on April 12, 2010. The establishment won the World Series in 1924 as the Senators, and in 1987 and 1991 as the Twins.

List of All Wild Card Berths Won By Minnesota Twins

In 2017, the Minnesota Twins made history with the Wild Card Berth. The Twins clinched the second American League Wild Card spot after the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Chicago White Sox.

The 2017 American League Wild Card Game was a play-in game during Major League Baseball’s (MLB) 2017 postseason that was played between the American League’s (AL) two special case groups, the New York Yankees and the Minnesota Twins.

The game was broadcast broadly by ESPN. The game occurred on October 3 at Yankee Stadium, with the Yankees winning 8-4, subsequently wiping out the Twins from the postseason and propelling the Yankees to the AL Division Series (ALDS), in which they crushed the Cleveland Indians, 3-2.

This was Minnesota’s first playoff appearance as a Wild Card team and their first postseason appearance since the 2010 American League Division Series.


Write A Comment