The Houston Astros have won 3 NL West Division titles so far. They include 1980, 1981, and 1986 NL West Division titles.

The 1980 Houston NL West Division Title

To determine the victor of the National League West Division, the Houston Astros and Los Angeles Dodgers played a one-game tie-breaker game. The game was held on October 6, 1980, in Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium. The Dodgers overcome a three-game deficit in the last three games of the season, and both clubs ended 92–70. The Dodgers won a coin toss late in the season, giving them a home-field advantage for the game.

The Astros triumphed 7–1 with a complete game from Joe Niekro. The Astros won this game to proceed to the 1980 NLCS, where they lost to the Philadelphia Phillies, ending their season. The tiebreaker counted as both teams’ 163rd regular-season game, with all events added to regular-season statistics.

The 1981 Houston NL West Division Title

The 1981 National League Division Series (NLDS) began on Tuesday, October 6, and finished on Sunday, October 11. As a result of the 1981 Major League Baseball strike, which halted play between June 12 and August 9, the Division Series was created on August 6. When play resumed, it was decided that the first-half leaders would automatically qualify for postseason play, allowing all teams to start the second half fresh. It was a best-of-five series. The Expos beat the Phillies and the Dodgers beat the Astros to progress to the NLCS.

The 1986 Houston NL West Division Title

Houston won the NL West with a 96–66 record, clinched by staff ace Mike Scott pitched a no-hitter against the San Francisco Giants, clinching the division title for any side. It was also the Astros’ first division title in six years. Hal Lanier led Houston.


Write A Comment